Really, still?

By Bruce Felps

I hate e-mail spam.

I know, I know, it takes less effort to delete it than it does to walk from the mailbox to the recycle bin with all the sales fliers, value coupons, and AARP offers that arrive via conventional post, but it’s an irrational thing.

My e-mail system doesn’t show them or an accumulated number in the spam file but I just know they’re there, so I clean it out about two or three times a day.

Just now I found the one copied after the jump:

Dear Friend,

I am Dr. John C.C Chan a Korean Republc, happily married with children, and i am a Director of Hang Seng Bank Ltd,
in charge of the International Remittance department. I have a confidential business you of 25.5 million dollars for you.
Please endeavour to reply me if interested [e-mail address removed not “redacted,” sheesh]

Thanks,
Best Regard,
Dr. John C.C Chan.

These things still go out? People still fall for them? Really?

  1. There was a New Yorker story a while back about a guy who fell for one of these. He was educated (actually, a Ph.D., I think) and by all rational measures should have known better. After losing tens of thousands (as I recall), he still felt compelled to be taken in.

    • bfelps

      amazing what greed with do, huh? hey spamers, send me an offer for $3 million or so and i’ll probably bite. i don’t need $25.5 million

  2. Beverly Regan

    I thought your “really, still?” was about the emails being large gray matter. The answer is yes on that one.

  3. Tom

    Sounds like ALL your finanical worries are over! What a lucky guy you are 🙂

  4. I’m getting a plethora (love that word!) yes, a plethora of political info forwards urging me to support this or d!@@# that one, and they are interspersed with many emails from Ambassador Amdor Thwat or some other high official offering me millions too. If they only knew how cheaply I could be bought.
    Not to mention all of the eligible men who are looking for someone just like me, who are anxious and ever alert to date me and especially if I’ll send my bank account and password. Oh, darlings, if you only knew!
    Regardez moi,




Leave a Reply

  • Body Beautiful Studio


