Taking Stock

By Laurie Grace

Problems to solve, things to do, changes to make … where to start?

I know I’ve felt that way many times. I’m not alone since, as a coach, I work with clients to answer and work through that question week in, week out.

And, this week I had an “ah ha” moment that occurred when I was cleaning out a kitchen cabinet. 

I was organizing a cabinet that was in total disarray. This particular cabinet contains all my tea. I am an avid tea drinker having more than 15 types of loose-leaf tea in my stash. I go to this cabinet every single day, and it needed some attention.

I decided to pull out everything, organize what I had, and throw out what I wasn’t using. I discovered a bounty of other things in the cabinet while cleaning out the tea.

I simply started my venture by taking stock.

I work with my clients to assess their starting points as milestone one when we begin working together on a specific goal. Often clients are a bit skeptical and perhaps even resistant to seeing the value in taking actions around this milestone. But once they follow through, make the commitment to do the work in this area, they find unexpected awareness and clarity.

When seeking change or a new result, our brains automatically want to take us to action. We catapult into changing our behaviors.

However, coaching theory based in neuroscience has proved that further exploring our thinking and awareness around areas that we may have mulled over in our minds for quite some time can attain a more lasting result.

Tapping into awareness and clarity makes room for those “light bulb moments.” We’ve each had them before, and they often illuminate an issue that’s troubled us for a while.

Suddenly, the fog clears and we see things that we hadn’t seen before.

Pretty amazing and empowering.  At this point we can move forward in a new way that enables us to reach a new result.

In cleaning out that cabinet, I experienced hands-on the value of taking stock and knowing my starting point. And, for me, that is a lesson worthy of applying to endless issues that reach far beyond the kitchen.

Laurie Grace, an East Dallas resident, owns and operates Laurie Grace Coaching, which helps people work toward a higher level of success in life, relationships, and business.

    Leave a Reply

      • Body Beautiful Studio


