Writing Life’s Headlines

By Laurie Grace

My personal headline? I had never considered it until a few weeks ago. Before then, I related headlines to publications not people. I now see how it all fits together.

It started when a colleague recommended a book to me, “Talk Less Say More” by Connie Dieken. I read it with the intention of learning how to maximize my time with clients so we could achieve goals powerfully and efficiency.

One key message early in the book talked of knowing and delivering your headline to your audience, people who may be potential clients. It made sense. It was a good reminder and included ideas on how to do this. I even refined a few things around how I answer the question, “So what do you do in coaching clients?”

And, then my thinking tipped from business applications to the personal practicality, and perhaps necessity, of it all.

What if we each had a personal headline?

This all came together for me this past week, and I have my coaching clients to thank for the insight.

The primary focus of my first couple of sessions with clients is to partner with them to gain clarity on what it is they’re really going for related to a goal. In short, what’s this really about, and, what impact will the outcome truly make?

At this point clients really get clear. Oftentimes they have a breakthrough in things they’ve contemplated for years.

And, when they get “clear,” it changes everything. The essence of it all is right there in front of them, typically in just a handful of words.

Hmmm … maybe in seven words or fewer just like a headline.

A headline briefly tells you the essence of a story. It’s the precursor of what’s to come. It’s the heart of the matter. I saw how this was all linking together.

My clients continue to amaze me by their ability to blaze a trail once they get clear on things … once they know what their headline is in a certain area of their life, be it career, relationships, health, or family. But the headline has to be out front. It must be clear and stated.

But, why? It allows us to get clear on the purpose so we can get moving and start creating the rest of our story.

So, is a personal headline a good thing? Absolutely. And perhaps it’s even better to create one for each of the significant areas of our lives.

This week I commit to ponder, then put on paper, the headlines that would appear in The Grace Times. I have a few written already but more to define.

What would be the headlines in your life’s paper?

Laurie Grace, an East Dallas resident, owns and operates Laurie Grace Coaching, which helps people work toward a higher level of success in life, relationships, and business.

    Leave a Reply

      • Body Beautiful Studio


